EXPAT: …REALLY…I DIDN’T DISAPPEAR…

Barcelona skyline in watercolor

It’s been 3 weeks since I wrote and really it feels like a life time!

The good news is here I am in Barcelona, and as strange as this might sound, when you are embroiled in the moving, the searching for an apartment, negotiating the bureaucracy and just dealing with the general day to day language barrier it’s easy to get so caught up that you forget to see what’s around you. Honestly it’s all happened so fast that at moments there didn’t seem time to draw breath.

Laurie, a very dear friend messaged me and said “…do take time to enjoy the move…a day off that gives you both time to regenerate is ‘allowed’. I imagine it’s easy to be ‘driven’ and miss savouring the moment”

She was absolutely right. Philip and I have at times been so caught up in the process, sooo exhausted, that  we’ve failed to enjoy and savour the fact that here we are…actually living in Barcelona.

One thing is for sure, Barcelona when she throws on a fine day and presents an incredibly blue sky reminds you just how beautiful she can be. You literally feel a ‘lightness’ in your step, when you walk out into ‘that’ sunshine…and its winter!

From this point on I’ll present posts that encompass key elements we have faced and negotiated in order to cut out a life for ourselves here.

“I think I’ll follow my heart, it’s a very good place to start”


Leave a Reply

